Board of Directors

MetService operates as a commercial company under the Companies Act with a Board responsible for managing, by or under its direction or supervision, the business and affairs of the Company. This includes responsibility for the Company’s strategic direction with the ultimate aim of increasing shareholder value.

MetService is committed to a safe and healthy  environment for everyone using its premises. The Wellbeing and Safety Charter sets out the Board’s role in assisting MetService to meet its vision of 'zero harm and 100% engagement'.

MetService’s Code of Ethics represents an elaboration of the core values of MetService, and is a fundamental aspect of good business practice. The Code is a framework of standards that Directors, employees, contractors and advisors of the MetService Group are expected to meet.


Paula Jackson Photo resized

Paula Jackson, Chair

Paula’s career spans 25 years in marketing and channel management, holding leadership and executive positions at ANZ, Telecom (Spark), Vodafone and Xero. 

Paula has held several directorships since starting her governance career in 2013, including Quotable Value, Airways and Marsello. She actively advises and invests in  technology start-ups. Paula is currently on the board at Mercer NZ. 

Paula is a member of Global Women and the Institute of Directors, and was selected for the IOD Mentoring for Diversity program in 2017. 


Tiwha Puketapu 1

Dr Brendan Tiwha Puketapu, Deputy Chair

Te Tiwha is a consultant with a background in governance and management roles with iwi, hapū and whānau entities, Māori land trusts, educational institutions and social organisations.  Te Tiwha is currently the Chair of Ātihau-Whanganui Incorporation.

Te Tiwha has worked with a variety of organisations in the public service and state sector. More recently, he has been appointed as Specialist Advisor, Governance Facilitator commissioner and Limited Statutory manager in both Māori and English medium schools.  


Alison Close portrait 220416 copy resized2

Dr Alison Watters, Chair of People Culture and Remuneration Committee 

Alison is an experienced Director with a background in Science, Agriculture, Senior Management, Innovation, and International Sales and Marketing.  

Alison is currently a Director of Fonterra, Livestock Improvement Corporation and Totally Vets Limited, and a Board member of High Value Nutrition, the National Science Challenge.   Alison is a Member of the Institute of Directors in New Zealand. 

Alison and husband Andrew own a dairy farming business in the Wairarapa, and are foundation shareholders of MyFarm Investments Ltd.  


Dave Moskovitz MS Board Member

Dave Moskovitz

Dave is a professional director and early-stage investor, and takes an active role in a number of start-ups, several of which focus on educational technology.  

Dave provides consultancy services around innovation, entrepreneurship and technology for a variety of clients in the public and private sectors, and works with a number of community initiatives.  

Dave serves as a Trustee of He Whenua Taurikura and Te Muka Rau, and on the boards of Starboard Maritime Intelligence and a number of early-stage companies. He is an Advisor to The Christchurch Call Advisory Network and is a member of the Institute of Directors in New Zealand. 


Martin Matthews resized1

Martin Matthews, Chair of Audit and Risk Assurance Committee

Martin is a professional director. He is currently a director of Kordia Group Limited and the Wellington Museums Trust, is the Chair of the Finance, Risk and Assurance Committee for Greater Wellington Regional Council, and an independent member of the Audit and Risk Committee at the Auckland Council. 

Martin has previously held executive roles as Controller and Auditor-General, Secretary for Transport, and Chief Executive of the Ministry for Culture and Heritage. 

Martin is a Fellow of Chartered Accountants Australia and New Zealand, and a member of the Institute of Directors. 



Stephen Willis Photo2

Stephen Willis

Stephen is an experienced executive level leader of highly complex and large multi-campus organisations in healthcare, education and research sectors within Australia and New Zealand. 

His diverse industry exposure includes the military, nursing, health service management, property management, property and campus development, project and portfolio management and complex corporate support services.  

Stephen is currently the Chief Operating Officer at the University of Otago. He is a member of the Institute of Directors New Zealand. 


Victoria Spackman photo 2018Victoria Spackman

Victoria is an independent director based in Wellington.  

Victoria’s governance roles include Chair of high-growth trans-Tasman technology company Ackama Group, director of New Zealand Trade and Enterprise, CDC Pharmaceuticals and Toi Mai Workforce Development Council, which serves the creative, cultural, technology and recreation sectors. 

Victoria is also an independent director of communications company Acumen and co-owner and director of Gibson Group. She was made an Officer of the New Zealand Order of Merit for services to theatre, film and television.  Victoria is a member of NZ Institute of Directors and SPADA.